- operatic -

 After the Fall (2017) chamber opera

for soprano, baritone, flute, piano and percussion.

Supported by Guildhall’s Doctoral Candidate Development Fund.

After the Fall addresses, in both words and music, the neurological and emotional effects that music can have on us. It tells the story of opera singer Eva, whose successful career has been cut short by an accident, a fall. The resulting brain injury has caused her to lose the ability to comprehend music and perform. She is treated by the Doctor, who hopes that this case will redeem him in the eyes of the academic community. As they both grapple with trying to understand Eva’s condition, questions regarding the nature of music arise. But the Doctor is nearly out of time, his big presentation is coming up.

Fótboltaópera (Football opera)

for six singers, whistle, and snare drum.

Commissioned by Kópavogur Opera Days, Iceland and premiered 1-5 June 2016. Sponsored by the Kópavogur town Arts Council, Iceland (Lista- og Menningarráð Kópavogsbæjar).


Évariste (2015) chamber opera

for five singers and quartet.

A commission from the Courtauld Gallery, Somerset House, London.

Évariste Galois, a hot-headed 21-year-old mathematical genius, is sitting at a desk in his room, feverishly writing. His two great passions, maths and politics, have been sabotaged by his first crushing experience of love. Now, he is more fervent than ever about being understood, being important, being accepted. As Évariste searches through his papers, a pistol falls from the paper mess to the floor. Évariste tries to retrieve it, but fumbles and it clatters to the floor again. He starts a goodbye letter to his friend, Auguste, explaining his work and his grave situation.

More works listed soon